On the west side of the lake is Paint Creek Pioneer Farm. The pioneer farm includes a log house, collection of log buildings, livestock, gardens and fields that represent a typical farm of the early 1800s.
Highland County Historic Society – 151 East Main Street, Hillsboro
A Former Tavern and stagecoach stop that now houses the Highland County Historical Society. Open Fridays from 1 to 5pm and Sundays from 1 to 4pm.
Greenfield Historical Society – 103 McArthur Way, Greenfield – 937-981-7890
The Historical Society of Greenfield Ohio, formed in 1949, is non-profit and exists to further historical preservation and education in Greenfield, Ohio, and the surrounding area. Open Thursdays from 1:00 to 4:00pm.
The Fort Hill Museum, run by a dedicated corps of volunteers, contains many interesting displays on the prehistoric people who inhabited the region, and on the park’s noteworthy natural history. Open weekends, May – October from 12 to 5.
Bell’s Opera House – 119 S High Street, Hillsboro
Bell’s Opera House is named after its benefactor, Charles S. Bell, leading citizen and philanthropist in Hillsboro, Ohio. It saw its grand opening in November of 1895. Tours are held at various times throughout the year.
This building has served as the courthouse of Highland County since its opening in 1834 and is the oldest courthouse in continuous use in Ohio.
Lynchburg Covered Bridge – Memory Lane, Lynchburg
The Lynchburg Covered Bridge is a historic wooden covered bridge that spans the east fork of the Little Miami River inLynchburg, Ohio. It, also, has the distinction, following a recent repair and restoration project, of being the only such covered bridge in North America to have been converted to a pseudo-suspension infrastructure.
Appalachian Forest Museum – 7660 Cave Road, Bainbridge
Visually stunning and inspiring, the Appalachian Forest Museum brings visitors a new perspective on our home biome. Follow a deer trail through an ancient grove of old-growth tree replicas to experience the little-known but world significant story of the temperate forest.
The “Octagonal Schoolhouse” was built in 1831 on ground set aside by Jacob Hiestand for a courthouse. It was the first building in the township after it was divided into school districts and was used as a school until 1844, being abandoned because of its size and a law which required that school houses must be owned by the district, whereas it stood on public property. During the Civil War, the “Octagonal Schoolhouse” was headquarters for the home guards, and guns were hung on wooden pegs on the walls. The building has also served as a courthouse, is currently used for monthly village council meetings, and is open for historical tours.